Big Mama’s Smothered Pork Chops and Mashed Cauliflower

11 Jan

Porks chops are on sale at Giant this week, so instead of my old time favorite, Maple-glazed pork chops, I wanted something a little more savory.  I remembered a recipe from the Patti LaBelle cookbook that I hadn’t made in years:  Smothered Pork Chops (Actually, I think hers was Smothered Chicken, but it was still delicious).  Did a quick search and found this.

My New Year’s Resolution was/is to try healthier recipes, so although the main dish was loaded with fat and calories, I saved a few on the side dish of mashed cauliflower.

Mashed Cauliflower:  1 Medium head of Cauliflower, cream cheese, sour cream, chives, butter, fresh thyme, parmesan cheese, black pepper, and chicken stock.

Pork Chops:  pork chops, garlic cloves, flour, sea salt, fresh mushrooms, milk, onion, crushed red pepper, ancho chili powder, canola oil, green bell pepper, thyme, and celery (Pictured, but not used).

Washed and seasoned the chops.

Into the cast iron pot to brown on both sides for about 4 minutes!

Heyyyyy…..I got a new pot for Christmas!!!  And it matches my Dutch Oven!!  Oh yeah, oh yeah!  Who knew I would be excited about kitchenware for Christmas??!!!  Thanks, Sis!!

I doubled the recipe, so I used my other cast iron skillet as well to save time.

Chopped the mushrooms.

Removed the chops from the pan and saved the pan crud.

Sauteed the pan crud, mushrooms, onions, garlic, green peppers, and added flour to thicken things up.

Milk to get the gravy going.

Added the chops back into the gravy.  I could already smell that down home, sop-it-up-with-a-biscuit aroma.  I REALLY wanted to cut into a chop for a quick taste, but unfortunately, they needed another 20 minutes or so of cooking.

YUMMMMM!

In the meantime, I chopped the cauliflower into small pieces and put it into a pot of boiling water until fork tender.

Drained and into a bowl with the parmesan cheese, cream cheese, sour cream, pepper, garlic salt, garlic, and an 1/8 tsp of concentrated chicken stock.  One thing I hate about buying the big container of chicken stock is that I never use the whole thing and it sits in the refrigerator and ends up going bad.  I found out the hard way that it only lasts for 14 days after opening.  The funk from the container almost singed my nose hairs when I opened a carton that was WELL over 14 days old!  Luckily, I found the little concentrated containers and they have been true money savers!

Used my immersion blender to mix everything together.  I LOVE that thing!  I haven’t used it in a while since I don’t make smoothies often, but it’s a great tool to have.  The mixture blended pretty easily.

Added more pepper and chives and by that point, it at least, looked like mashed potatoes.

Onto the plate…..drizzled with a little extra gravy.

Close-up of the cauliflower.

So, I have a fantasy that one day, many many moons from now, that I will be “Big Mama.”  Grandkids running around and the entire family coming to my house for Sunday Dinner.  They can often be heard telling people, “Nobody makes {Fill in the Blank} like my Big Mama!”  Or, “You haven’t had {Fill in the Blank} until you had Big Mama’s!”

So, of course, Big Mama HAS to be able to make a good smothered pork chop, right?

Well, according to my Hubby, I ain’t Big Mama just yet, but I’m getting close.  ***giving him MUCH side eye for messing up my fantasy***

I WILL say that these pork chops would give Big Mama a run for her money!  Man, oh man!  They were savory and tender, perfectly seasoned, and almost brought tears to my eyes, they were so good.  This was one of the few times that I didn’t taste while cooking.  I waited until everything was plated before my first bite and boy, what a sweet reward!

I did try the cauliflower beforehand to make sure it was seasoned properly.  Couldn’t believe how much it tasted like mashed potatoes.  I’d made this years ago using a different recipe and if I can recall, it was good.  But, obviously not good enough for me to make often.  This recipe, however, I do plan to make again.  The kids said, “Mommy, these pork chops and mashed potatoes are SOOOOO good!”  I didn’t break the news to them until after they finished.

I thought I’d made enough for leftovers the next day, but little did I know they would ask for seconds!

Good Stuff!

Have you tried cauliflower in place of mashed potatoes or spaghetti squash in place of spaghetti?  Trying to think healthy here!

2 Responses to “Big Mama’s Smothered Pork Chops and Mashed Cauliflower”

  1. Toot January 20, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    Glad you like the pan. That dish looks so good. Gonna have to try the cauliflower. You are officially “Big Mama”!

  2. lucille November 10, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    Waiting for Jambalaya. I want to make it.

What say you?

